Jesus Would Never Tell Me Who To Vote For, So Why Should You?

Standard
campaign-2016

Photo Credit:  thejaggedword.com

Dear Religious Leaders:

It disturbs me greatly when I receive literature or read articles from religious organizations purporting to follow Biblical principles whom advise me which candidate to vote for in an election.

Have you forgotten what happened when Israel, God’s chosen people requested that Samuel ask God for a King to rule over them?

God answered Samuel, “Go ahead and do what they’re asking. They are not rejecting you. They’ve rejected me as their King. From the day I brought them out of Egypt until this very day they’ve been behaving like this, leaving me for other gods. And now they’re doing it to you. So let them have their own way. But warn them of what they’re in for. Tell them the way kings operate, just what they’re likely to get from a king.” 1 Samuel 8:7-9

What would Jesus tell me to do in every election?

“The first thing I want you to do is pray.  Pray every way you know how, for everyone you know.  Pray especially for rules and their governments to rule well so we can be quietly about our business of living simply, in humble contemplation.  This is the way our Savior God wants us to live.” 1 Timothy 2:1-3

Jesus would never tell me who to vote for, so why should you?