I’m In Heaven…

Standard

If you ever sing-sung “Marsha, Marsha, Marsha” or have ever uttered the words “porkchops and applesauce’ in a Peter Falk aka Columbo style voice, then you’ve seen a few episodes of The Brady Bunch.

If you know who “the movie star, the professor and Mary Ann” are, you’ve seen a few episodes of “Gilligan’s Island”.

If you are clueless about those television shows, you missed the greatest era of television, the 70’s.

Back then, I remember reading the show credits, but,  it wasn’t until those shows were long off the air that I started paying attending to the opening and closing credits.

I didn’t even realize until it was recently reported that Sherwood Schwartz had passed away, that the shows were created by the same person, which explains why the show theme songs told the story of the show.

Truly, the penultimate writer, even in his death, he wrote something that has left an indelible mark on my heart.

The Hollywood Reporter released a letter he penned and requested to be published upon his death.

In “A Conversation at the Gates”, Mr. Schwartz writes about what will happen when he dies and stands before the Pearly Gates. As his life is recounted back to him, he makes a startling discovery:

“Heaven is where I’ve been since the day I was born.”

The entire letter is here and worth a read.

After reading the article and his letter, I was deeply moved.  His letter made me realize how insignificant some things are when it comes to the gift of life and the love of our family.

I’m moved at the way he wanted to make sure that his family knew how much he cared about them, even after he passed away.

I’m determined to live each day more blessed, far more appreciative of each passing moment with my family and encourage you to do the same.

I’m in heaven, right here on earth.  There’s no greater gift.