Don’t Miss Your Moment aka Procastination

Standard

When you’re working towards GREATNESS, there are any number of things that can hold you back.  Discouragement, anxiety, fear, worry.  Sometimes those things can lead to behaviors that will delay you on the path to greatness.

I’m a person who happens to believe that the Bible was written as a guide for life. I believe that there is not a subject or topic that we won’t find covered in scripture. And for me, obedience to God is paramount, so if I find a teaching that shows me the error of my ways, I’m more apt to apply the principle in my life.

So when I thought about my quest for this month – to COMPLETE some things, I honestly admitted to myself that I tend to be a procrastinator!

Sure, I get the job done. But, I have come to believe the LIE that I work BEST under pressure and by PRESSURE, I mean the NEED to get it done.  Doesn’t it ALWAYS NEED to get done? *sigh*

Many times, after a project is complete, I wish I had done it sooner, so I could have more time to do things that I’d RATHER do.

The Bible speaks of a RIGHT time, an OPPORTUNE time to do things.  When I read that this morning, it made me wonder – have I been doing things at the wrong time?  Could it be that we MISS opportunities, because we don’t accomplish things at the RIGHT and OPPORTUNE time?

Let’s look at the ant.  If you’re not a youngun’  you’ve heard the song “High Hopes” – the song that talks about an ant trying to move a rubber tree.

“Next time you’re found with your chin on the ground

There’s a lot to be learned, so look around.

Just what makes that little old ant

Think he’ll move that rubber tree plant?”

Oftentimes procrastination on my part (I can only speak of my personal experience) is caused because I’m uncertain of the end result.  Or it’s because other things have popped up and taken away from the time I expected to be devoted to a project.  Or it’s just plain discouragement and anxiety that has set in. But, after today, I’m going to have HIGH HOPES.  I’m going to continue to work on writing projects that I previously did not finish because I don’t want to miss an OPPORTUNITY.

Besides, I’m not lazy….right?

The bible admonishes a lazy person to learn a lesson from the ant. (Proverbs 6:6-11)

“You lazy fool, look at an ant.
Watch it closely; let it teach you a thing or two.
Nobody has to tell it what to do.
All summer it stores up food;
at harvest it stockpiles provisions.
So how long are you going to laze around doing nothing?
How long before you get out of bed?
A nap here, a nap there, a day off here, a day off there,
sit back, take it easy—do you know what comes next?
Just this: You can look forward to a dirt-poor life,
poverty your permanent houseguest.”

OUCH!

That should be our work ethic!  Get the job done, work and THEN relax.

“So any time you’re gettin low

Just remember that ant

Oops there goes another rubber tree plant!”