Day 24 AM – 300 Steps to Greatness

Standard

This morning, while reading the various e-mails designed to encourage me before I hit the ground running I came across something quote worthy, that will set the pace for my day:

“If I had it to do over again, I would laugh more, love more, and never EVER be afraid. – Marsha Burns

The source, at first glance, would seem unlikely.  It’s from “The Spirit of Prophecy” Bulletin and I try to make it the first thing I read as soon as I wake up so that something positive hits my brain first!

I know I am guilty of not laughing enough.  Sometimes I tell myself that I’m going to end the day with a comedy of some sort – but, even when I do, I don’t laugh enough.

The root lies within other words found within that statement – love and fear.

Sometimes, I’m so bogged down the the “day to day”, that I have allowed it “to get in the way of my day today”.  Fear of not knowing, not showing myself love by carving out “me” time and constantly being concerned as the sole provider, single parent of a teenage son are valid concerns.  However, just like I am making 2011 the year that “I DO” instead of the year that “I should have or could have”, I’m adding to my goals to make this the year that I laugh more. I want to live more & yes, I want to love more – starting with myself.

So, today – while I have a chance to do it again and before I waste any more time, I’m going to LAUGH more!

One way that I have done that in the past is to attend Anthony Anderson’s Mixtape Comedy.  The comedian, who is a regular on TV’s Law and Order and is known for a host of other roles, and his partner, fellow funnyman Royale Watkins – also an actor and staff writer for the sitcom “Are We There Yet” produce the show in New York at Gotham Comedy Club on every third Sunday.

More importantly, they provide quality entertainment for the masses at a reasonable price – yes, in New York!  Better still?  When you can’t make it into the city, the show streams live online!

So, guess what I’m going to do today?  I’m going to make some time to laugh.  I’m going to get me a bag of popcorn, relax and watch the latest episode of Mixtape Comedy online!

And I’m going to make sure these words are not uttered by me when 2012 rolls in:

“If I had it to do over again, I would laugh more, love more, and never EVER be afraid. – Marsha Burns

Laughter removes fear.  And if I’m believing the prayers I post every morning on twitter – what is there to fear?  God’s got me 🙂

Laugh out loud today.  It’s good for the soul!

6 thoughts on “Day 24 AM – 300 Steps to Greatness

  1. That is an excellent goal, TWC! I have to find humor in almost everything. Its a great coping mechanism. The saying “… laugh to keep from crying” is such a truism. When I really need an extra push I have some funny lines on reserve. For me, I go to Eddie Murphy movie lines. I never go wrong with a line or scene from Life or Trading Places or Coming to America! I’m laughing just thinking about those movies!

    I am proud to say that I have been working on my non-fiction project today and I am excited about it! I shared before that I had my son @ an early age so when I pondered “what I know” I had a “duh” moment : I’ve been a mom more than half my life, if I don’t know that then…. I am focusing particularly on being a teen mom. I decided (in the shower – where inspiration sometimes hides) to expand the project so I’ll be asking the advice of this community.
    Today my goal is to finish two of my TAW assignments and work on @ least one of my WIPs.
    HAPPY LAUGHING!

    Like

  2. I am humbled and deeply appreciative that you would take the time to spotlight us. We are committed to building quality entertainment WITH our fans. My personal goal is to make entertainment and social networking a three dimensional experience for the consumer. And Anthony and I are determined to change the world, one laugh at a time.

    Rw
    Team Work Ent.

    Like

    • Thanks for commenting, Royale. You guys are genuine souls and truly put your heart in your work. It’s obvious that Team Work knows the value of putting quality entertainment together. As always, I’m your number one fan and will support whatever you do!

      Like

    • Everyone needs to laugh. I just think we forget to do it. I’m going to make it my goal to intentionally do something to make me laugh OUT LOUD at least once a day – be it watch Mixtape Comedy online, read a funny blog, watch a funny movie – call a comedian friend, etc. I think it’s important to relieve stress, and what better way than to laugh?

      Thanks for taking the time to comment.

      Like

Comments are closed.