That Writing Chic

The Voices of A Million Angels…

In Blog Posts on 04/24/2011 at 5:15 am

I haven’t posted a blog for several days because I got a call on Tuesday to work production on an awesome event for Earth Day in Times Square on Good Friday.

Typically, I decide my post in the morning and as always, it’s something that’s been on my heart.

So, at 4:44 am, I sit here, unable to sleep – because I need to pour out my heart.

Please bear with me as I bare my soul…

“How can I say thanks for the things you have done for me?

Things so undeserved

Yet, you gave to prove your love for me

And the voices of a million angels could not express my gratitude.

All that I am and ever hope to be,

I owe it all to thee.

To God be the glory.”

Anyone who KNOWS me, or has had a conversation with me for longer than thirty minutes knows that I believe in the power of prayer.

As much as I love writing, prayer is the thing that sustains me.  Prayer is the blood flowing through my veins, the pulsing of my heart, the sweetest thing I’ve ever known, the pouring out of every heartache, the mourning before the joy that comes in the morning – it is my LIFE.  If I could not pray, I would cease to exist. Every breathe I take is a testimony to the power of prayer.

It’s not just that I believe in the power of prayer.  I KNOW God hears my prayers and answers them.  They are not mere empty words, they are me pouring out my heart to the ONE who loves me more than any words can express.  Prayer is the key by which the doors of communication with my Heavenly Father are opened.  Prayer is THE thing that solidifies and confirms my relationship with God.

It is because of prayer that I have survived every attack of the enemy on my life.  It is because of prayer that my children are covered – even when they don’t realize it.  It is because of prayer that I have a roof over my head, food to eat and most importantly, it is because of prayer that I have developed such an intimate relationship with God.

My daughter recently shared with me that she felt the need to pray safety for her and her family members.  She FELT danger so strong that she prayed incessantly.  Her neighbor’s home was broken into.  The robbers went RIGHT PAST her house, which is visible from the street, to a seemingly INVISIBLE apartment near her.

It warms my heart more than she could ever know that she KNOWS the power of prayer and the importance it plays in our daily life and relationship with God.

And it is prayer that CONSTANTLY saves me, over and over again.

One of my daily prayers is that God protect me from dangers seen and unseen.  He has continued to do that.  More times than we know, we are in harm’s way and that was the case for me on Friday.  Good Friday.

Good Friday is the day set aside to commemorate the death of Jesus Christ at Calvary. Typically, I might attend a church service.  In fact, a friend texted me to say she remembered when I spoke in church on a Good Friday a few years ago.  This year, I was SO caught up in work, I confess, that I thought of the significance of the day only briefly.

After leaving Times Square on Friday, I had a few errands to run.  Although I had planned on taking the 7:50 pm bus, I was running late and thought the next bus would arrive at 8:30 pm.  Then I got a FEELING in my gut that I needed to check the bus schedule.  I NEVER carry a bus schedule with me and only check it online when going TO New York. But, I had a FEELING…

To my delight and surprise there was an 8:10 pm bus. I called my son when I got off the bus and told him he should order dinner because I was too tired to cook.  When I got to my house, I decided to go to the store to pick up a bottle of wine.

I stopped to give my son the money to pay for dinner and went to the store.  There was no one in the store, other than myself and the clerk.  We spoke briefly and as I exited the store, I felt DANGER.  Although I was only 15 steps away from where I was headed, I felt DANGER so strong that I remember the words I prayed: “God, please let me make it home safely.  Protect me from danger seen and unseen.  I don’t know what it is, but, PLEASE spare my life.”  I looked all around and the street was like a ghost town.  I SAW NOTHING! And I felt safe.

I realized that the wine I had chosen needed a cork screw.  I was about to go back to the store, but, I was just too tired and decided against it.

Then it happened.  The sound that seemed so insignificant at the time.

I asked my son what did it sound like to him and he replied “Probably someone banging on something.”

He was wrong.

They were gunshots.  Fired in the store that I had just left.  In the same store that I almost decided to go back to.

On Good Friday, the day we commemorate the death of Christ, 28-year-old James Wilson died and THEN I remembered.

I remembered the FEELING I had.  I remembered the prayer I prayed. And I KNEW that the same Christ who died at Calvary and rose on the third day spared my life.

“Dear God:  Please protect me from dangers seen and unseen.”

I SAW NOTHING.

I don’t know what your religious affiliation is, I don’t know what your belief system is, but, I URGE you to seek God in prayer.  Take some time today to think about ALL that he has done for you.  You are not alive by accident, there is a reason you are alive at this very moment and an even STRONGER reason that you are reading this post right now.

It might not be for you.  It might be for someone who you know.  PLEASE, pray NOW.  Pour out your heart to God.  Even if you have NEVER done it before, just start with this:

“Dear God:  Please protect me from dangers seen and unseen.”

And if you don’t know how to pray or want me to pray with you, send me an e-mail TODAY thatwritingchic@gmail.com.  I WILL pray for you and WITH you. And PLEASE say a prayer for the family of James Wilson.

So, today is NOT just any other day.  It is the day that I celebrate my God, who loves me so much that he hears and answers my prayers. It is the day that I will pray to a God who gave his son’s life for ours,  on behalf of the family of James Wilson who lost his life on Good Friday.

My God who loves me so much, that he communicates with me and lets me know when I should stop, when I should go – even when I don’t know how or why.

It is the day that I will reflect on the life I am living, the legacy that I wish to leave, all the while seeking God’s forgiveness for anything in my life that does not reflect him, and most importantly, this is the day that I will continue to praise God, knowing that the voices of a million angels could not express my gratitude.

“Just let me live my life, let it be pleasing Lord to thee

Should I gain any praise, let it go to Calvary.”

How Great is our GOD!”

HE HAS DONE GREAT THINGS!

  1. BE~LOVED Suncera, I join you in prayer. I pray you forward in your ministry. You are continously and courageously a living testimony of a soul anointed and led by the Almighty Hand of God. May you continue to uplift and inspire many, this day and every day, in Jesus’ name Amen. With love always, Shawna

  2. Praise God from whom all blessings flow! Hallelujah Jesus for the Word that flowed from your vessel in this post, on this day! Lord, we magnify you for being who you are and we thank you for all you have done in this WOG’s life! Bless her Lord for being obedient. In Jesus Name! Amen. This blog was more then just that. It was a Word, a blessing, an encouragment. The Bible says we overcome by the word of our testimony. Amen. May God Bless you and keep you. May He make His face shine upon you and give you His peace!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 13,743 other followers

